USACM Technical Thrust Areas


The primary rationale behind establishing USACM Technical Thrust Areas or TTAs is to invigorate the USACM Executive Council's adopted thrust areas following a structured approach. The thrust areas should reflect current research trends and priorities in the national and international Computational Engineering and Sciences landscape.

TTA Charter 

Each TTA will be charged with the following tasks:

  1. Organize tracks for mini-symposia in the technical thrust areas at every USNCCM;
  2. Coordinate USACM sponsored thematic conferences and workshops in the TTA;
  3. Be responsible for the organization of at least one thematic conference in a two-year cycle;
  4. Maintain a TTA website documenting all activities;
  5. Each TTA will be reviewed for renewal and continuation, in every two year cycle.


  1. Each TTA will be run by a committee, consisting of a Chair, Vice-Chair and two committee members. All committee members should be established researchers in the subject area.
  2. Each TTA committee should include at least one junior member of the research community (Assisant Professor, Post-Doctoral Fellow at a national laboratory, etc.).  Diversity (gender and race-based minorities) in the TTA committees should be encouraged.
  3. In the start-up period, USACM EC members who have been identified as mentors of each TTA will work with the broad Computational Engineering and Sciences community to identify members of the TTA committees.
  4. Each TTA will maintain a website with its activities which will be hosted by USACM.

Technical Thrust Areas


Novel Methods in Computational Engineering and Sciences


Chair: C. T. Wu, Ansys

Vice-Chair: John Foster, Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences

Members-at-Large: Steve WaiChing Sun, Columbia University

Michael Hillman, Pennsylvania State University


Isogeometric Analysis


Chair: Michael Scott, Brigham Young University

Vice-Chair: Hector Gomez, Purdue University

Members-at-Large: John Evans, University of Colorado-Boulder

David Kamensky, University of California, San Diego

Multi-Scale, Multi-functional Materials and Structures


ChairMarisol Koslowski, Purdue University

Vice-Chair: Jaafar El-Awady, Johns Hopkins University

Members-at-LargeShawn Chester, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Steve WaiChing Sun, Columbia University

Uncertainty Quantification and Probabilistic Modeling


Chair: Abani Patra, Tufts University

Vice-Chair: Serge Prudhomme, Ecole Polytechnique de Montréal / Oden Institute

Members-at-Large: Johann Guilleminot, Duke University

Jian-Xun Wang, Notre Dame University

Computational Fluid Dynamics and Fluid-Structure Interaction


Chair: Ming-Chen Hsu, Iowa State University

Vice-Chair: John Evans, University of Colorado-Boulder

Members-at-Large: Jinhui Yan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Artem Korobenko, University of Calgary


Nanotechnology and Lower Scale Phenomena


Chair:  Anter El-Azab, Purdue University

Vice-Chair: Jaroslaw Knap, U.S. Army Research Laboratory

Members-at-Large: Celia Reina, University of Pennsylvania

Amartya Banerjee, University of California Los Angeles

Biological Systems


ChairAdrian Buganza Tepole, Purdue University

Vice-ChairJessica Zhang, Carnegie Mellon University


Manufacturing and Materials Processing


Chair: Wei Cai, Stanford University



Mathematical Methods in Computational Engineering & Sciences


Chair: Guglielmo Scovazzi, Duke University

Vice-Chair: Jean-Luc Guermond, Texas A&M University

Member-at-Large: Alireza Doostan, University of Colorado Boulder

Large Scale Structural Systems and Optimal Design


Chair: Ilinca Stanciulescu, Rice University

Vice-Chair: Pablo Seleson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Members-at-Large: Walter Gerstle, University of New Mexico

George Gazonas, CCDC Army Research Laboratory

Data-Driven Modeling


Chair: Ellen Kuhl, Stanford University

Vice-Chair: Assad Oberai, University of Southern California

Members-at-Large: Alireza Doostan, University of Colorado Boulder

Paris Perdikaris, University of Pennsylvania

Modeling and Simulation of Infectious Diseases


Chair: Tarek Zohdi, University of California, Berkeley

Vice-ChairEllen Kuhl, Stanford University

Members-at-LargeThomas Hughes, Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences

J. Tinsley Oden, Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences